• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 Sampak

Sampak

FreeBay Booster

• Members
  • 47 posts

Posted 08 March 2011 - 02:55 PM

So I didn't always have a nice car to play with. My '06 Sentra was the first one to get "tested" on as far as mods go. I first installed an ebay intake for $10 I got which was listed for B14 chassis 200 SX. It added a nice growl to the car.

Next I researched and bought a $100 ebay header for the Sentra. The Engine light came on after about 50 miles of driving and stayed on due to the pre-cats being eliminated and the main cat apparently not being able to do the trick for the O2 sensor.

It added an annoying drone and rasp to the otherwise already raspy stock exhaust. Otherwise I couldn't really tell if it was any faster, except that I stepped on it more than usual.

Afterward I got a Flow Master 40 exhaust, having viewed a youtube video of another Sentra that used it and sounded very deep and no rasp. Of course it was an older '95-99 1.6L Sentra and now I know why that owner sold his car.

The Flowmaster further destroyed the peace inside the car if god forbid I needed to accelerate at a decent pace and drove on the highway more than 45-50 mph. My usual driving is done at 60-70 mph with the engine RPM at around 2300-2500. A few months later I learned a resonator could help with rasp and droning. Got a 14" put on. It only worked for few short months before the drone seemed to have come back.

Next I bought an 18" resonator to try and fix the problem. That seemed to have worked better, only slightly. At least now around 60 mph it was a tad less annoying.

Sick of the drone after 7-8 months, I researched some more and found that a straight-through Magnaflow oval muffler would work wonders to reduce the drone and rasp inherent to the FlowMaster 40 mufflers.